31 Weeks Pregnant

This post is nearly a week late but my excuse for that is that I have been wrapping up my day-to-day stuff with work and then haven’t had it in me to post at night – I just want to come home and chill so that is what I did 🙂

Symptoms: It hasn’t been officially confirmed or anything but I think that I have started to suffer with SPD – if I roll over in bed at night it wakes me up because I feel like someone is kicking me in my pubic region – it takes me 3-4 shuffles in order to get from one side of my body to the other … I feel like a whale in pain 😦 and then if I go from being seated to stood it feels again like I have been kicked in the lady parts and I struggle to be able to start walking. When I can move again I’m fine but it’s just the getting going that takes some doing and hurts. Maybe a trip to the Dr. or midwife is in order if it carries on?!?!?! Other than that though it’s all gravy!

Body Changes: My bump is rock hard and it seems to get larger every day, stretch marks have definitely kicked in down the right hand side of my stomach but other than that everything is just running pretty normally.

Cravings: There is still nothing that I’m actively seeking out but I am finding that I’m drinking more and that I prefer ice-cold to anything else.

High Point: Being told that our baby is head down and seeing her wriggle about.

Low Point: I got really emotional at work and burst into tears when one of the ladies I liked mentioned that I didn’t have long left – the sad thing was that it wasn’t the fact that I’m soon to be due or the fact that I was leaving soon that upset me … some other stuff had happened which added to previous other stuffs just got me down. Also being stuck with Anti-D … they decided to give it me as a precaution after all and while it didn’t hurt it’s just another needle! good thing I don’t mind them eh? Ohhhh and also at my midwife appointment I had the whooping Cough jab which again didn’t hurt on the day but WOW my arm has never been so sore since and I’ve bruised like a boss!

What I did to prepare this week: Because of the upset at work and the pain that I had started to feel I decided to speak to our HR manager and ask to bring forward my maternity leaving date – she agreed so Friday the 16th was my last day. I thought that I might feel bad for leaving early but thinking about it now, with how I’m struggling at times and how much we have left to do in the home it was definitely the right idea and so far I’m loving being a little housewife.

Paranoid Moment: I don’t think I’ve really had one, there have been times when I’ve been worried about our little ones movement but I’m getting better with not worrying about that now as I’ve found that she seems to have a rave one day to the point where she knackers herself out so that she spends the next day sleeping it off!

What’s going on “in there”: From babycentre.co.uk again…

Your baby weighs about 1.5kg and looks more than ever like a newborn. He measures about 41cm from crown to toe. His arms, legs and body continue to fill out – and they are finally proportional in size to his head. You may notice your baby isn’t moving around as much. That’s because he’s just running out of space in your uterus (womb). As long as you can feel him squirming and kicking, you’ll know he’s just fine. Believe it or not, he still has plenty of growing to do. You can expect him to gain at least 900g before birth. Your baby’s organs are continuing to mature and he is passing water from his bladder, which is good practice for the weeing he’ll do after he’s born. Also, the marrow in his bones has taken over from his liver the job of producing red blood cells. You’ve probably gained weight this month, somewhere between 1.3kg and 1.8kg. Gaining 450g a week is quite normal during the last trimester as your baby has a final growth spurt before he arrives in the world.

My bump picture for this week…

31 Weeks

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laughingpromises
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 21:32:35

    I don’t know if I have SPD, but I definitely have the same pubic bone pain. My midwife says it’s normal and the best way to deal with it is keep your knees together as much as possible. It doesn’t bother me during the day, but when I’m rolling over all night, I use my legs to do so, so I wake up very sore. I do think baby likes to kick it or punch it sometimes, too.

    Reply

    • Mrs P
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 19:39:18

      It’s a nightmare at night for me too, apparently birthing/gym balls are quite helpful so I’m going to get mine out and give that a go!

      Reply

Leave a comment